CFDA / VOGUE Fashion Fund Winners 2011


Fashion  in  News    November  ModXchange   2011  Los Angeles’ Fashion Database

C F D A  /  V O G U E   F a s h I o n  F u n d   2 0 1 1   W i n n e r s   | ModXchange News MXNS  0039


“Fashion in News – CFDA/V O G U E Fashion Fund Winners 2011

The Players:

Council of Fashion Designers of America

 CFDA Fashion Fund



by ModXchange Fashion


15  November 2011

NEW YORK, New York – |   “Chic, chic, chic all around,” was the memorable descript of 2011’s CVFF, the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Awards, Monday evening.

Beauty model Doutzen Kroes and Olivier Theyskens, Amanda Seyfried and 2010 CFDA and V O G U E runner-up Prabal Gurung, and Olivia Wilde showing a “flirty and feminine” eyelet and black lace ensemble, created by 2011 VOGUE Fashion Fund contenders, Carly Cushnie and Michelle Ochs, were just a few of the many attending the night’s splendor.

This 8th edition of the Awards included grueling design, prep, and showpiece schedules, a mirror-inside of what each of the year’s competitors will face pressing forward into the designer array of other  f a s h i o n   greats.

Finalists chosen to compete this year:

Joseph Altuzarra * Antonio Azzuolo of A.A * Alexa Adams and Flora Gill of Ohne Titel * Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis of Suno * Dana Lorenz of Fenton/Fallon * Shane Gabier and Chris Peters of Creatures of the Wind * Pamela Love of Pamela Love Jewlery * and Soraya Silchenstedt of Finn Jewelry

Lazaro Hernandez  and Jack McCullough of Proenza Schouler, recent CFDA additions, were among, VOGUE’s Mark Holgate, Nordstrom’s Jeffrey Kalinsky, Reed Krakoff, Jenna Lyons, Andrew Rosen, Diane von Furstenberg and Anna Wintour in the selection board.

“Do I have to introduce myself?  Hello, I’m Diane,” is how CFDA prexy von Furstenberg’s joie de vivre complemented the beautiful night.  The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo star Rooney Mara in a colorfully lush Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein Collection dress, welcomed the evening’s keynote speaker Calvin KleinCFDA past winners Billy Reid along with Alexander Wang and entertainment couplings including Joe Jonas, industry, and Chloe Moretz fell under the spell of Klein’s aplomb.  The Icon jibed with whimsical sage, “I started out much smaller and with probably much less money than all of you!” reminding the finalists dedication and vision are muses for designers starting out small in the biz, which can upswing to big successes.

2011 CFDA / VOGUE Winners

Credit: CFDA

Joseph Altuzarra was announced winner of the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund. Altuzarra will receive a fashionable $300,000 to infuse onto his business. Altuzarra, an industry familiar, attracted nom for the women swear Swarovski Award 2010 and 2011 and received nominated for the Fashion Fund award the year past.

Chicagoans, Shane Gabier and Chris Peters of Creatures of the Wind snagged runners up along with New York’s Pamela Love and her jewelry designs, each winning $100,000 to support their businesses. Better than equanimity, each of the three will receive mentorship from the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund’s Business Advisory Committee.

The final three received a special bronzed commemoration award by Rachel Feinstein, and Altuzarra received a delicate swan replication of Leonardo da Vinci’s “Leda and the Swan, immaculately reproduced by Cesar de Santo.

Who attended?

CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg, Vera Wang, Tory Burch, Tommy Hilfiger, Giles Mendel, Bibhu Mohapatra, Zac Posen, Rachel Roy, Francisco Costa, Nicholas Kirkwood, Nicole Miller, Narciso Rodriguez, Olivier Theyskens, Alice Temperley, Rooney Mara, Calvin Klein, keynote speaker of the evening; former CVFF winners and runners-up Alexander Wang, Billy Reid, David Neville, Eddie Borgo, Georgina Chapman, Jason Wu, Kate & Laura Mulleavy, Keren Craig, Patrik Ervell, Peter Som, Phillip Lim, Prabal Gurung, Thakoon Panichgul, Thom Browne and Waris Ahluwalia.

Other industry and entertainment sects included Coco Rocha, Gaia Repossi, Doutzen Kroes, Ivanka Trump, Jennifer Carpenter, Olivia Wilde, Mia Wasikowska, Joe Jonas, Allison Williams, Brooklyn Decker, Liya Kebede, Amanda Brooks, Jack Huston, Chloe Moretz, Elettra Rossellini Wiedemann, Elisa Sednaoui, Joan Smalls, Lauren Remington Platt, Michelle Harper, Lily Kwong, Marina Rust, Harley Viera-Newton, Stephanie Wolkoff, Lauren Santo Domingo, Steven Kolb, Zoe Kravitz, and Anna Wintour.

Perhaps the cutest event of the night: an emotional Joseph Altuzarra, sneaking out from the outpouring of lauds and well-wishes – to phone the news home to his mom.

Congratulations winners!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s